Last item for navigation
Mrs. Arica Watkins-Smith

Arica Watkins-SmithDistrict 7
Email Arica Watkins-Smith
Term Ends 11/30/2024

Schools in District 7: Brewbaker Middle, Brewbaker Technology Magnet High School, Fitzpatrick Elementary, Brewbaker Primary, Brewbaker Intermediate, Dannelly Elementary, LAMP, Montgomery Preparatory Academy for Career Technology (MPACT).

Mrs. Watkins-Smith knows that every student has the ability to succeed.

“I believe in providing all students with the same educational possibilities and opportunities,” said Watkins-Smith. “A good quality education should be accessible to all children whether in a traditional school or a magnet school. I firmly believe students should be allowed to be innovative, to develop curiosity - by exploring and experimenting, and being imaginative. Great teachers go beyond the minimum to educate children. Our students deserve great teachers.”

She believes that we should cultivate a system where we trust the input of teachers and help develop them into learning leaders and experts of their craft. Most of all, she believes in being fiscally responsible by prioritizing the needs of our students and putting the resources behind those needs.

“Our parents and the community are two of the most important stakeholders in public education. I will continue to encourage the community to stay involved. No one person will have all the answers, but together we can grow the Montgomery Public Schools into an exemplary school system.”

Mrs. Watkins-Smith currently serves on the Board of Directors of Montgomery Area Mental Health Authority. She is a graduate of Leadership Montgomery Class 30, a graduate of Stillman College with a Bachelors Degree in History, and received her teacher certification in Collaborative Special Education from the University of Alabama. She is a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, and is a deaconess at Morning Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church.

Mrs. Smith is married to Robert Smith and has three school aged children (Austin, Ellen and Riley Smith) who all attend Montgomery Public Schools.